Co-presenting our research at the Maine Fishermen’s Forum in 2017.

Along with the co-mentorship and collaborations through the Environmental Communication Community of Practice, my research group works together on engaged and interdisciplinary research projects on a range of topics.



  • Tyler Quiring, Ph.D. student, 2016-present
  • John Welton, Master’s student, 2015-2017
  • Ben Wyman, Master’s student, 2015-2017
  • James Robe, Undergraduate honors thesis, 2016-2017

Committee membership


  • Dana Carver-Bialer, Ph.D. student, Communication & Journalism, 2016-present
  • Bryan Picciotto, Ph.D. student, Communication & Journalism, 2015-present
  • Natallia Leuchanka, Ph.D. student, Natural Resources and Earth System Science, Ph.D. student, University of New Hampshire, 2017-present
  • Catherine Hamley, Ph.D. student, School of Earth and Climate Sciences and the Climate Change Institute, 2017-present
  • Kara Pellowe, Ph.D. student, School of Marine Science, 2016-present
  • Anthony Sutton, Ph.D. student, Ecology and Environmental Sciences, 2016-present


  • Sandaruwan Pradeep Kumara, M.S. student, Communication & Journalism, 2017-present
  • Abby Roche, M.S. student, Communication & Journalism, 2015-present
  • Shuling Chen, M.S. student, School of Marine Science, 2017-present
  • Gabrielle Hillyer, M.S. student, School of Marine Science, 2016-present
  • Emma Fox, M.S. student, School of Economics, 2015-2016
  • Sophia Scott, M.S. student , Plymouth State University, 2014-2016
  • James Gibbons, Master’s thesis project committee member, 2014-2015
  • Bethany Jorgensen, M.S. student, Communication & Journalism, 2014-2015


  • Michael Kennedy, Undergraduate honors thesis committee, 2016-2017
  • Alan Bennett, Undergraduate honors thesis committee, 2015-2016
  • Katie O’Brien, Undergraduate senior thesis project, College of the Atlantic, 2014-2015           
  • Kristyn Souliere, Undergraduate honors thesis committee member, UMaine, 2014

Research mentorship

  • Sara Lowden, Research Associate and Ph.D. student in Anthropology, collaborating on research with the Campuses for Environmental Stewardship project, 2017-present
  • Sam Roy, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Future of Dams Project, 2016-present
  • Dana Carver-Bialer, Research Assistant, Communication and Civic Engagement with the Faculty Fellows Program, 2017-present
  • Tony Sutton, Research Assistant, Communication and Civic Engagement with the Faculty Fellows Program, 2017-present
  • Sara Randall, Research Associate, Future of Dams and Safe Beaches and Shellfish Projects, 2016-2017

Undergraduate research assistant mentorship

  • Cassie Page, Communication major, April 2017-present
  • Carter Hathaway, Journalism major, May 2016-present
  • Alex Smyth, Communication major, 2016
  • Victoria Sabol, Business major, 2015-2016
  • Jack Brannigan, Economics major, 2015